Event Details

You have already joined in The New Zealand Modern Slavery Bill 2024 (VIRTUAL) Event.

The New Zealand Modern Slavery Bill 2024 (VIRTUAL)

New Zealand’s Deputy Prime Minister has announced the introduction of new modern slavery legislation. 

The proposed law (which is in the drafting phase) will introduce mandatory reporting for companies with an annual revenue of NZ$20 million or more. 

This will be in the form of an annual statement, which will be accessible on a public register, identifying modern slavery risks within the entity’s operations and supply chains. 

Organisations will also be required to report on what they are doing to address and mitigate the identified risks. Failure will lead to fines ranging up to NZ$200,000. 

At the outset the proposal sounds similar to Australia’s Modern Slavery Act, but with a significantly lower reporting threshold and financial penalties 

- creating new legal obligations for a substantial number of businesses on both sides of ‘the Ditch’

Your expert presenters 

Luke Geary, Partner, Mills Oakley legal services

Georgia Davis, Lawyer, Mills Oakley  

The time of this session is:

6:30 - 7:30AM (Perth)
8:30 - 9:30AM (Brisbane)
9.00-10.00AM (Adelaide)
9:30-10:30AM AEDT (Sydney/Canberra/Melbourne)
11:30-12.30PM (Auckland)

Event Details

Event Detail Virtual - at your desk using Zoom
Map View on Google Map
Start October 11th, 2023. 09:30am AEDT
End October 11th, 2023. 10:30am AEDT
Status Event Details Closed

Other Details

Seats 30 persons
Attendees 22 persons
Location ,
Category One off sessions
Type Virtual